For You, a Little Merriment

Oh, hai.

I hope you are having a good post-Caturday.

Mom and I are doing well. I made this for ya’ll today.

Frog Catching Fly

Frog Catching Fly

And Mom made her coconut shrimp bisque. I I thought I wanted some, but it turns out, I just like the way shrimp smells when it’s sauteed in coconut oil and garlic. So mom gave me more pate, and I made this.

Bear Juggling

Bear Juggling

Mom said she would share her recipe with ya’ll, because she says everyone should eat this good.

I was so excited, I even helped her type.

Mom’s Coconut Shrimp Bisque 

8 ounces of wild caught salad shrimp
4 tablespoons of coconut oil
1 can of fire-roasted tomatoes, diced
1 celery stalk
1 red onion, diced
1/2 bulb garlic, diced
1 can coconut cream, unsweetened
1 cup unsweetened coconut milk
Ground Himalyan sea salt, to taste (mom puts in close to a tablespoon; she doesn’t really measure; she just pours some in her palm, so she can toss it in for dramatic effect)
1 cup cilantro, chopped

Sautee shrimp in coconut oil for a few minutes. Add onion and garlic. Play music. Sing. Dance. Make merry.
Add remaining veggies, except for cilantro. Stir. Dance. Make more merry.
Add coconut cream and milk. Rinse cilantro, chop, toss cilantro, salt, and random well wishes into pot before starting conga line.
Put lid on soup pot. Simmer for half an hour.
Continue with merry making. Mom says midnight margaritas go well with the bisque. In case you need the recipe…

As you probably gathered, mom likes to listen to music when she cooks. We recommend Belafonte…

…and Nilsson.

Enjoy while hot. Serves four.

Feel free to garnish with parsley, cilantro, or sunshine.

2 thoughts on “For You, a Little Merriment

  1. Don’t partake of flesh, but love coconut and cilantro and all the tunes you’ve provided so if you fish out *groans* the shrimp for me I’ll be over for Midnight Margaritas. Save me a place in the conga line!

Leave a Reply

