Dear Carl

I think you’re awesome and all, and I’m really glad you’re here. I just wanted to share a few things with you, since you’re still new to the fold…

DearCarl

Now pay attention, OK? This is important.

1. In case you were wondering, mom’s foot is not a launchpad.

Mom says your red-eye flight was almost as painful as that Nick Cave movie she saw a few weeks ago. Almost.

Mom says your red-eye the other night was almost as painful as that Nick Cave movie she saw a few weeks ago. Almost.

2. I am not a backup singer. I know you had no way of knowing that. Just wanted you to be aware that I prefer to be lead vocal next time we have karaoke night.

karokecat

3. Cleaning up after parties is a must.

anotherparty3

anotherparty2

Mom had a hard time turning the washer right side up the next morning.

anotherparty6

In your defense, I think this looks pretty good, despite what mom says.

anotherparty4

anotherparty5

This on the other hand, not so much.

anotherparty

Oh, and a ball in the middle of the kitchen floor is a dead giveaway that we had a party. I put several away, but I couldn’t get them all before mom got up. Next time, we share cleanup duty, OK?

4. While mom is fine sharing her pashmina with you, she’d prefer that you not help yourself to all the pillowcases in the linen closet, too. We have a nice quilt in there already, in case you forgot.

pashminajunkie

5. Barring thunderstorms, only one of us can fit in the kitty cup.

ohhai

6. But I like it when we share the leopard throw.

Blanket Buddies

Blanket Buddies

7. Now that we’ve covered parties and launchpads and sleeping arrangements, mom and I wanted you to know we think your crunchy art is really stellar. We’d even like to share some of your pieces this week, because we’re both super proud.

Cheeky Monkey

Lion Abstract

Lion Abstract

8. I made this one. You can tell, because of all the hair in the bowl.

Flapper Girl. I made this one for Mama J, because she likes things from that era.

Flapper Girl. (I made this for Mama J, because she likes things from that era.)

9. We think your pate art also has promise, so we’re showcasing it here.

UGA riding aardvark

UGA Riding Aardvark

10. Here’s one I made this week, in case you want to study my technique.

Ostrich

Ostrich.

11. Your photobombing has gotten much better. Mom, on the other hand, needs to be more careful.

mamabombcarl

Nice shot of you. Too bad mom’s finger’s in it.

thekittygrassolympicsphotobomb

Mom says she’s sorry she photobombed our kitty grass olympics last week.

thekittygrassolympics

At least we have this shot.

Well, I don’t know about you, but all this mentoring has worn me out. I think it’s time for a nap.

sleepyboys

Don’t worry little C. You got this.

4 thoughts on “Dear Carl

  1. Aw, thanks for the special flapper girl, J.D. I love it! And tell your mom I’ll try to remember to snail her some more colorful band-aids – hers are kinda boring.

    • Glad you liked the flapper girl. And yes, please send exciting band-aids. Mom had to use the last of the boring ones this afternoon when Carl used her thigh as a launchpad during a failed grooming session. xoxo, J.D.

Leave a Reply

