Pretty Picante

Oh, hai. I  hope your Tuesday is going well. Mom finished up her Disney proposal, and Little C and I were able to get our Tuesday tumble in before taking our nap this morning.

All in all, it's been a pretty good day.

All in all, it’s been a pretty good day.

Before I introduce our guest blogger, I wanted to share the writing prompt for the day. Mom says that’s important, because we’re in NaBloPoMo. So here goes. “If ‘failure is the condiment that gives success its flavor’ (Truman Capote), how spicy do you like your success stories?”

This couldn’t be more perfect. Mom loves Truman Capote, and our guest blogger’s chosen art form is pretty spicy. Plus, we both think that our scars are what give us character. So I’d have to say we like our success stories pretty picante.

Which brings me to our guest blogger, Mademoiselle Angelique. Liki, if you’re ready, you can go ahead…

Ah, bon jour. Je m’appelle Liki. Je suis un chat…

Uh, Liki, sorry to interrupt. I know you’re French and all, but I’m not sure all of our readers will understand you. Can you start over in English? Sorry. I forgot you were bilingual.

Ah, oui. Hello. My name is Liki, which is, how can I say, a nickname. My true name is Angelique.

As you know Monsieur Salinger is a great pate artist. I have been following his work for quite some time. When he asked me to share a little of my story with you this evening, I was a little shy. But his mère encouraged me, because other cats should know how to escape le brush torture. With this understanding, it is an honor to be here today.

You can probably see I am a Himalayan cat with a very long fur. Unfortunately, these beautiful furs come with a price. To maintain my elegant coat, Maman J™ must brush me often. Unlike Monsieur Salinger, I detest brushing, which is why I began to learn le pole dance. 

It's not as easy as it looks, but it keeps me limber.

It’s not as easy as it looks, but it keeps me limber.

As you can imagine, I need to be in good shape, so I can run from Maman J™ whenever she wishes to begin le brush torture. Sometimes she catches me, and I sing the song of the torture of my people.

Sometimes I tire of running, so I hide.

Can you see me?

Can you see me?

How about now?

How about now?

But she always finds me, that one.

I do other things to keep in shape, in hopes of one day escaping le torture. Par example:

Guarding le Kindle avec Kashmira.

Guarding the purple Kindle avec Kashmira

I also am in charge of the room where Mamère J™ keeps all of her books. As resident librarian, I must keep everything in order and make sure each shelf is dusted properly.

It helps to have a fluffy tail, oui?

It helps to have a fluffy tail, oui?

 Zut! Did you hear that? Je pense que Maman J™ has the brush again. Au revoir mes amis!

Uh, I think that’s all Liki has to say for now. We hope you have enjoyed our guest blogger today. Mademoiselle Liki, that was a tremendous job for your first post ever. Thank you.  And yes, please, keep running! We have faith in you here at artmycatmakes.

Signing off, wishing you the sweetest of successes on this special guest post Tuesday.

 

Leave a Reply

