Spa Treatments, Tuna, and Time Travel: All in All a Pretty Good Day

Oh, hai. I hope you’ve been having a good Caturday. Mom gave me the spa treatment today. I got my hair and nails done. She even cleaned my ears. I purred the whole time. I love that mom takes such good care of me. Little c™ watched, but he wasn’t ready for spa day yet. Mom gave him some treats and tried to pick him up, but he ran away before she could show him the clippers.

I tried explaining to c™ that grooming is important, but he started snoring, so I'm not sure how much took.

I tried explaining to c™ that grooming is important, but he started snoring soon after, so I’m not sure how much of it took.

While c™ was napping, I asked mom about our writing prompt for today. She said it reads, “Present-day you meets 10-years-ago you for coffee. Share with your younger self the most challenging thing, the most rewarding thing, and the most fun thing they have to look forward to.”

Since c™ is only 3 and change, he can’t really answer this one yet. I’m going to be 11 next Valentine’s Day, so I can go back to way before mom got me to answer these questions. Mom says we don’t have to drink coffee, so instead I’m meeting younger me for a more sensible treat.

can_of_tuna

This is what I told younger me while c™ was napping:

Oh hai. Thanks for meeting me for tuna. I’m supposed to share three things you will need to know over the next ten years. I know, it’s weird talking to a future you, right? Well I’m participating in NaBloPoMo, and this is one of our writing prompts. NaBloPoMo is National Blog Post Month. Every November you can take the pledge to post every day for an entire month. We’re half way through the challenge now. We have a blog called Art My Cat Makes. Mom helped me set it up after she noticed I was making cool stuff with my food.

According to today’s prompt, I’m supposed to let you know what the most challenging, rewarding, and fun things are that you can look forward to. Are you ready? Is the tuna dolphin safe? Oh, yeah, mom made sure of that. Good question. Feel free to eat as much of it as you like while I give you a sneak peek at the future you.

OK, by far, the most challenging thing you will have to endure is that spring you run away from the shelter and have to spend a few months out in the wild before someone from Austin Pets Alive finds you. This happens right after you turn eight, just before mom visits you at the shelter, so try not to be too scared, because the good part’s coming. How did it happen? Oh, they were transporting you to another facility, and you got spooked and ran out of the cardboard box they were carrying you in. The carrier mom has is much safer. Not only is it purple, it’s plastic and has metal hinges, so you can’t break out if you hear a scary noise next time.

Mom keeps my carrier on the top shelf of our closet. She only brings it out when it's time to go to the vet.

Mom keeps the carrier on the top shelf of our closet. She only takes it out when it’s time to go to the v-e-t.

But enough about scary noises and challenges. The most rewarding thing that happens is when mom finds you at the shelter. This will happen a few months after your escape and rescue. How does she know it’s you? Oh, that’s easy. You will meow at her and insist that she pick you up. When she does, you will rub your cheeks on her face and take a nap in her lap while she fills out the paperwork. The adoption counselor will cry, because she is so happy you’re going to a good home. And when you get home, you find all sorts of neat things to play with and fun places to explore. But the best part is, you’re with mom.

me&jd

And the most fun thing that you will have to look forward to will be playing with little c™. Little c™? He’s a kitty that mom rescued from the Austin Humane Society. He’s heaps of fun, too, so you don’t ever have to worry about being bored. He’s also a pretty good thunder buddy, which comes in handy, because thunder will be less scary when c™ is around. Why did we trademark his name? Mom says it’s a shorthand, so sometimes she can put c™ in the captions to save time. It’s also kinda cute, like him. Oh, and I almost forgot. With c™ around, you’ll have someone to assume the Caturday position with on Caturdays, which is always a plus.

thecaturdayposition

I could tell that was a lot for younger me to process, so I left him to finish his tuna. When I got back, I assumed the Caturday position with c™, so current me would remember there’s still a lot to look forward to.

All in all a pretty good day.

 

2 thoughts on “Spa Treatments, Tuna, and Time Travel: All in All a Pretty Good Day

  1. Pingback: Child – Only By Definition | Rahul Creatrix's Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Good Tidings | Lord of the Sick - Saviour of the World

Leave a Reply

